AFCON 2015: Algeria, Ghana and South Africa Drawn In The Group of Death

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather
AFCON 2015: Algeria, Ghana and South Africa Drawn In The Group of Death
Four of Africa’s football giants have been drawn together in the in the African Cup of Nations next year.
Champions: But Nigeria did not qualify so will not defend their trophy

Ghana, Senegal, South Africa and Algeria have been pitted against each other in what is undoubtedly the stand-out group in the 2015 competition draw.

Algeria were one of the surprise packages at the summer’s World Cup, going down to to champions Germany in extra-time of the second round, despite an impressive display.

Ghana are now under the stewardship of former-Chelsea and West Ham manager Avram Grant, while Senegal are looking to put right their form from their last AFCON, where they lost all three of their group games.

Meanwhile, Nigeria, winners of the competition in 2013, will not defend their crown as their failed to qualify.

Previous African Cup of Nations winners

Nigeria 2013

JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA - FEBRUARY 10: John Obi Mikel celebrates holding the trophy during the 2013 Orange African Cup of Nations Final match between Nigeria and Burkina Faso from the National Stadium on February 10, 2013 in Johannesburg, South Africa. (Photo by Lefty Shivambu / Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Zambia 2012

Zambia's national football team player Emmanuel Mayuka celebrates victory against Ivory Coast at the stade de l'amitie in Libreville

Egypt 2010

Egyptian captain Ahmed Hassan and teammates raise the trophy of the African Cup of Nations

Hosts Equatorial Guinea, who were only awarded the competition last month after Morocco pulled out amidst Ebola fears, will open up the competition with a match against Congo-Brazzaville on 17th January, before they go onto to meet Gabon and Burkina Faso.

Congo-Brazzaville manager Claude LeRoy will be appearing at his eighth AFCON – incredibly with his fifth different team.

Shock 2012 champions Zambia have been drawn in Group B, but played all of their matches that year prior to the final in Equatorial Guinea, who co-hosted the competition.

In Group D, Cameroon and Ivory Coast will come face-to-face again after being pitted against each other in qualifying.

Ivory Coast fans invade the pitch
Reuters: Celebrations: Ivory Coast fans celebrate their teams qualification

Cameroon recovered from a disappointing World Cup to put in an unbeaten run and qualify for the finals, including a 4-1 win over Yaya Toure’s Ivory Coast.

The competition, which will involve a host of Premier League stars, will take place between January 17th and February 8th.

Group draw in full

Group A: Equatorial Guinea, Congo-Brazzaville, Gabon, Burkina Faso.

Group B: Zambia, DR Congo, Cape Verde, Tunisia.

Group C: Ghana, Senegal, South Africa, Algeria.

Group D: Ivory Coast, Guinea, Cameroon, Mali.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *